Adventure Mine Timeline
(Click for a larger view)
The Adventure Mine operated from 1850 to 1920 and is one of the best preserved mine sites of its age. Like almost all of the mining locations of the Copper Country, the Adventure was opened on existing prehistoric excavations located on Adventure Bluff. These prehistoric workings date to about 5,000 years before the present-day and were very extensive. The mine consisted of five shafts; four were inclined at 45 degrees to follow the ore body and one was vertical. The deepest of these shafts, the No. 3, contained 13 levels and extended down 1300' following the ore body. The Adventure shared most of the same board members as the famous, and highly profitable, Quincy Mining Company and was incorporated several different times trying to develop a profitable mine on Adventure Bluff. Although the Adventure always showed great promise and millions of dollars were spent pursuing that dream, the mine always won out in the end. It never produced a profit.
Visit the Adventure Mine and experience this history for yourself!
For more photos of and information about other area mines, please visit the Michigan Tech Archives.
You can also see the 1906 mine site map here, with historical and present day photos.
Even though the Adventure closed to mining, the story has not ended. See our Recent History page.
Adventure #3 Shaft House. All that remains today is the stone foundation walls which are approximately 12' tall. The No. 3 shaft is 1300' deep and runs on a 45 degree angle.
Adventure #3 Shaft
Adventure Mine Office
Looking at the No.3 area. From left to right in the photo: Mine Captains House, No. 3 hoist house, No. 3 shaft house, machine shop, carpenter shop, lumber shed, oil houses Today, the field in the center of the bottom of the photo is where the camping area is.
No.3 hoist house. This is where the gift shop sits today. Tours start in the basement.
Miner sitting on the skip in the No. 3 shaft.
Miners pose on the 9th levelnear the No. 3 shaft.